Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, this site may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. That commission does not change what the research says, and nothing below was supplied, reviewed, or approved by the manufacturer.
Medical Disclaimer: This article is for general information only and is not medical advice. Cholesterol is a clinical matter. Talk to your doctor or pharmacist before starting any supplement, especially if you take prescription medication or have a diagnosed condition.
Table of Contents
- Why Cholesterol Supplements Are Hard to Judge
- Quick Verdict
- What Is Lipid Control Plus?
- Ingredient Analysis: What the Research Actually Shows
- Safety, Interactions, and Who Should Avoid It
- Doses Here Versus Doses in the Research
- Pros and Cons
- Who Should Consider Lipid Control Plus
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Final Verdict
Why Cholesterol Supplements Are Hard to Judge
A cholesterol supplement is one of the hardest products in the wellness aisle to evaluate honestly. The plants involved are real, the studies are real, and the mechanisms are plausible. The difficulty is that almost every claim you read about a formula like this one is really a claim about an ingredient, measured at a dose that may or may not be the dose inside the capsule you are holding.
That gap is where most reviews quietly fall apart. A meta-analysis reports that artichoke extract lowered total cholesterol by roughly 17 mg/dL, and the number gets reprinted next to a product containing a fraction of the extract those trials used. The study was not wrong. The transfer was.
Lipid Control Plus is a reasonable test case for that problem, because its label is unusually transparent. Every ingredient carries a stated milligram amount and, in most cases, a standardization percentage. That makes it possible to do what a review should do: line the label up against the published trials, ingredient by ingredient, and say plainly where they match and where they do not. If you want the wider context first, our guide to managing your lipid profile naturally covers the lifestyle side that any supplement sits on top of.
How this review was done. The label was read on the official site and cross-checked against the manufacturer group site the same day; both listed identical amounts. Every study referenced below was located in PubMed and checked for journal, year, sample size, the outcome actually measured, the dose actually used, and disclosed funding. Claims that could not be verified at that level were left out, including several that appear in the product marketing. We have not tested the product ourselves.
Quick Verdict
Lipid Control Plus is a transparently labelled, low-dose formula built from ingredients with genuine human research behind them. Its main weakness is arithmetic rather than botany: for most of its components, the amount supplied sits well below the amount used in the relevant trials.
The clearest example is curcumin. Lipid Control Plus provides 100 mg of Curcumin C3 Complex. The randomized trial that tested that exact branded pairing of curcuminoids and BioPerine used 1,000 mg per day. Artichoke leaf extract is supplied at 200 mg, while the European Union herbal monograph lists 400 to 1,320 mg of dry extract daily for its recognised uses.
Nothing in the formula looks unsafe at these amounts, and the label deserves credit for disclosing all of them. But a disclosed dose is a dose you can check, and the check does not go the manufacturer's way.
Check the current label and pricing on the official site (paid link)
What Is Lipid Control Plus?
Lipid Control Plus is a capsule supplement marketed for cholesterol and liver support. The daily dose is two capsules taken with roughly 300 ml of water, and a container holds 60 capsules, or 30 days at that rate.
The formula is better understood as two products sharing a bottle. Four ingredients target blood lipids, which is what the marketing leads with. Three others are liver-directed: a clove and helichrysum blend, L-ornithine L-aspartate, and choline. Whether that pairing makes sense depends on how you read the connection between hepatic function and circulating lipids, a link our article on what causes high cholesterol beyond diet looks at in more detail.
The full label, per two-capsule daily dose:
| Ingredient | Per 2 capsules | Standardization |
|---|---|---|
| Clove flower and Italian strawflower extract (Hepure) | 340 mg | Not stated |
| Artichoke leaf extract | 200 mg | 2.5% cynarin |
| L-Ornithine L-Aspartate | 200 mg | Not applicable |
| Olive leaf extract (Oli-Ola) | 170 mg | 3% hydroxytyrosol (about 5.1 mg) |
| Curcuma longa extract (Curcumin C3 Complex) | 100 mg | 85% curcuminoids (about 85 mg) |
| Garlic bulb extract | 60 mg | 6% alliin, 3% allicin |
| Choline | 50 mg | Not applicable |
| Black pepper fruit extract (BioPerine) | 5 mg | 95% piperine |
Two points about what is not on the label. There is no allergen statement on the product site, and there is no published trial of this finished eight-ingredient combination. Everything that follows is evidence about individual ingredients, which is a different and weaker thing than evidence about the product.
Ingredient Analysis: What the Research Actually Shows
Artichoke leaf extract (200 mg, 2.5% cynarin)
This is the ingredient with the most directly relevant human evidence. A systematic review and meta-analysis in Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition (2018) pooled 9 randomized controlled trials covering 702 subjects and found significant reductions in total cholesterol of 17.6 mg/dL, LDL cholesterol of 14.9 mg/dL, and triglycerides of 9.2 mg/dL, with no significant change in HDL. The LDL effect was larger in people who started with higher LDL. A more recent synthesis in Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome (2025) reported smaller but consistent reductions, and also found lower alanine aminotransferase, which is the closest thing in this formula to evidence for the liver angle.
The dose is the problem. One of the better single trials, published in Phytomedicine in 2008, randomized 75 adults with mild to moderate hypercholesterolemia to 1,280 mg of standardized artichoke leaf extract or placebo for 12 weeks. Total cholesterol fell 4.2% in the treatment group against a 1.9% rise in controls, a significant difference, but LDL, HDL, and triglycerides showed no significant separation. The European Union herbal monograph for artichoke leaf, adopted in March 2018, gives a daily dose of 400 to 1,320 mg of dry extract. At 200 mg, this product sits below the bottom of that range.
Curcumin C3 Complex (100 mg, 85% curcuminoids) with BioPerine (5 mg)
Curcumin is where the evidence itself is genuinely divided, and a review that reports only one side of it is misleading you. A meta-analysis of 20 randomized trials with 1,427 participants in Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition (2019) found curcuminoids lowered triglycerides by 21.4 mg/dL and raised HDL slightly, but produced no significant change in LDL or total cholesterol. An updated meta-analysis in Archives of Physiology and Biochemistry (2022) found no statistically significant effect on any of the four lipid parameters. An umbrella review in Nutrition, Metabolism and Cardiovascular Diseases (2022), pooling 19 earlier meta-analyses, concluded the opposite: significant improvements across total cholesterol, triglycerides, LDL, and HDL.
The trial closest to this product is a 2014 study in Complementary Therapies in Medicine, which gave 100 patients with metabolic syndrome either Curcumin C3 Complex at 1,000 mg per day with BioPerine in a 100:1 ratio, or placebo, for eight weeks alongside standard care. The curcuminoid group saw reductions in LDL, non-HDL cholesterol, total cholesterol, triglycerides, and lipoprotein(a), and a rise in HDL. Funding was not disclosed in the published abstract.
That is the same branded pairing in this bottle at one tenth of the dose. Piperine does substantially raise curcumin absorption, and the human pharmacokinetic work behind that claim is solid: a 1998 study in Planta Med found 20 mg of piperine raised curcumin bioavailability by 2000% in healthy volunteers. But absorption is a multiplier on what you take, not a substitute for it, and the multiplier was measured against a 2 g curcumin dose rather than 100 mg.
Olive leaf extract, Oli-Ola (170 mg, 3% hydroxytyrosol)
At 3% standardization, 170 mg delivers roughly 5.1 mg of hydroxytyrosol per day. A 2024 systematic review of randomized controlled trials in Antioxidants examined 12 human trials with 683 participants on oleuropein and hydroxytyrosol supplementation, using doses from 5 mg per day of hydroxytyrosol up to an olive leaf infusion supplying 11.9 mg. The authors described the results as contrasting but encouraging, with some trials showing lipid and glucose improvements and others not.
So the amount here is real rather than decorative, and it sits at the low end of what has been studied.
Garlic bulb extract (60 mg, 3% allicin)
Garlic has the largest evidence base of anything in the formula. A comprehensive updated meta-analysis in Nutrition Reviews (2026), funded by Kerman University of Medical Sciences, pooled 108 randomized controlled trials with 7,137 participants and found garlic supplementation lowered total cholesterol by 10.2 mg/dL, LDL by 5.9 mg/dL, and triglycerides by 5.8 mg/dL, while raising HDL by 2.2 mg/dL. These are modest, consistent effects.
The trials behind them overwhelmingly used garlic powder or aged garlic extract in the hundreds of milligrams to multiple grams per day. This formula supplies 60 mg of extract. The direction of the evidence supports garlic; the quantity here does not obviously reach it.
Hepure (340 mg), L-ornithine L-aspartate (200 mg), and choline (50 mg)
These three are the liver side of the formula, and they are the least supported. Hepure is a proprietary clove and Italian strawflower blend, and no human trial of it appears in the published literature. The closest work is a 2022 paper in Antioxidants that measured antioxidant activity of clove and Helichrysum italicum extracts in cultured intestinal cells and reported synergy between them. That is cell-based research, not a result in people, and it says nothing about cholesterol.
L-ornithine L-aspartate has respectable clinical evidence, but for a different purpose and at a different scale. It is studied in hepatic encephalopathy in cirrhosis, where a placebo-controlled trial in the Journal of Hepatology (1998) used 18 g per day for 14 days. This product supplies 200 mg, under a hundredth of that dose, to people who by definition do not have cirrhosis. Choline is on firmer ground conceptually. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements notes that choline, particularly as phosphatidylcholine, is essential for transporting lipids out of the liver, and that deficiency leads to hepatic fat accumulation. But the adequate intake is 550 mg per day for men and 425 mg for women, so 50 mg is a top-up of under a tenth, not a correction of a deficit.
See the full ingredient breakdown and current options (paid link)
Safety, Interactions, and Who Should Avoid It
At these doses the formula is unlikely to cause problems in a healthy adult, but three of its ingredients carry interaction profiles the product site does not mention.
Garlic and bleeding risk. Memorial Sloan Kettering's herb database lists altered platelet function with potential for bleeding among garlic's adverse effects, notes that garlic may enhance warfarin's anticoagulant activity, and advises discontinuing garlic at least seven days before surgery. Garlic may also inhibit CYP2C9 and CYP2C19 and induce P-glycoprotein. The 60 mg here is small, but if you take an anticoagulant or antiplatelet drug this belongs in a conversation with your pharmacist.
Artichoke and the biliary tract. The EU herbal monograph contraindicates artichoke leaf in anyone with hypersensitivity to plants of the Asteraceae family, and in obstruction of the bile duct, cholangitis, liver disease, gallstones, or other biliary disorders requiring medical supervision. Reported side effects include mild diarrhoea, abdominal cramping, nausea, and heartburn. Since the product site carries no allergen statement, people with ragweed, daisy, or chrysanthemum allergies have no warning to go on.
Curcumin and the liver. This is the counterintuitive one for a product sold partly on liver support. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health notes that liver damage has been reported in some people who consumed bioavailability-enhanced curcumin formulations, which is exactly what a curcumin and piperine combination is, and advises stopping and contacting a clinician if fatigue, nausea, poor appetite, dark urine, or jaundice appear. Piperine itself inhibits human P-glycoprotein and CYP3A4, which is how it works and also why it can raise levels of unrelated medications.
The manufacturer states the product is not suitable for children or for pregnant or breastfeeding women, and should not replace a varied, balanced diet.
Doses Here Versus Doses in the Research
Setting the two side by side makes the picture clear.
| Ingredient | In Lipid Control Plus | In the cited research |
|---|---|---|
| Curcumin C3 Complex | 100 mg/day | 1,000 mg/day (2014 RCT, same branded pairing) |
| Artichoke leaf extract | 200 mg/day | 400 to 1,320 mg/day (EU monograph); 1,280 mg in the 2008 RCT |
| Olive leaf extract | 170 mg/day (5.1 mg hydroxytyrosol) | 5 mg/day hydroxytyrosol and up, across 12 trials |
| Garlic extract | 60 mg/day | Hundreds of mg to grams per day across 108 trials |
| L-ornithine L-aspartate | 200 mg/day | 18 g/day (hepatic encephalopathy trial) |
| Choline | 50 mg/day | Adequate intake 425 to 550 mg/day |
Only the hydroxytyrosol content lands inside the range used in published human work, and it lands at the bottom edge of it.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Fully disclosed doses. Every ingredient carries a milligram amount and, where relevant, a standardization percentage. There is no proprietary blend hiding the split.
- Consistent labelling across sites. The product site and the manufacturer group site listed identical amounts on the day of checking.
- Ingredients with real human evidence. Artichoke, garlic, curcuminoids, and hydroxytyrosol have all been tested in randomized trials and pooled in meta-analyses.
- Well-characterised branded forms. Curcumin C3 Complex and BioPerine are among the most studied branded ingredient forms available.
Cons
- Under-dosed against its own evidence. Curcumin, artichoke, garlic, L-ornithine L-aspartate, and choline all fall below the amounts used in the research, in several cases by an order of magnitude.
- No trial of the finished formula. The eight-ingredient combination has never been tested in people, so ingredient results cannot be carried over to the product.
- Hepure has no human data. The single largest ingredient by weight is supported only by cell-based antioxidant work on its components.
- No allergen statement and no interaction warnings. Given the Asteraceae contraindication for artichoke and garlic's anticoagulant interaction, their absence is a meaningful omission.
- Return rights are narrow. The site describes a 10 calendar day right of withdrawal from purchase, requiring written notice and goods with no traces of use. That is a legal withdrawal right, not a satisfaction guarantee, and it expires long before any lipid change could be measured.
Who Should Consider Lipid Control Plus
This is a plausible option for someone with borderline lipids who is already doing the structural work and wants a low-risk addition to it. The research on artichoke is strongest in people whose LDL starts high, and the effects across these ingredients are modest adjustments, not replacements.
It is not the right product if your cholesterol is high enough that your doctor has raised medication, if you take an anticoagulant, antiplatelet drug, or HIV protease inhibitor, if you have gallstones or a biliary condition, or if you are allergic to plants in the daisy family. It is also a poor fit if you were hoping to match the doses used in the studies, which would take several times the recommended serving.
If you have not yet exhausted the non-supplement levers, the evidence for those is considerably stronger than for anything in this bottle. Our guide to lowering LDL cholesterol without extreme dieting covers the changes with the best return.
Check whether it ships to your region and see current bundles (paid link)
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Lipid Control Plus actually lower cholesterol?
No one knows, because the finished formula has never been tested in a clinical trial. Several of its ingredients have lowered cholesterol in randomized trials, but at doses substantially higher than those supplied here. The product might produce a small effect or none, and the label alone cannot tell you which.
How long would it take to see a change?
The trials on these ingredients that reported lipid changes typically ran 8 to 12 weeks, and the artichoke trial ran 12 weeks. If you are going to test it on yourself, a blood panel before starting and another after about three months is the only way to know.
Is there a money-back guarantee?
The official site describes a right to withdraw from the transaction within 10 calendar days of purchase, submitted in writing, with the goods showing no traces of use. We found no satisfaction guarantee or extended refund period stated on the site. Claims elsewhere of a 60 day money-back guarantee do not match what the seller publishes.
Can I take it with my cholesterol medication?
Ask your prescriber before you do. The garlic content can interact with anticoagulants and affect several drug-metabolising enzymes, and the piperine inhibits CYP3A4 and P-glycoprotein, which is precisely the machinery that clears many prescription drugs, including some statins.
Is the curcumin dose really that low?
Yes. At 100 mg of Curcumin C3 Complex standardized to 85% curcuminoids, the daily dose delivers about 85 mg of curcuminoids. The randomized trial using the same branded curcuminoid and BioPerine pairing used 1,000 mg per day. Added piperine improves absorption but does not close a tenfold gap in the amount taken.
Final Verdict
Evidence Score: 2.8 out of 5.0
Lipid Control Plus is an honest label wrapped around an underpowered formula. It scores well on transparency, because every dose is disclosed and the two official sites agree, and reasonably on ingredient selection, since artichoke, garlic, curcuminoids, and hydroxytyrosol all have human trial evidence behind them.
Where it falls down is the arithmetic. Most ingredients are supplied below the range used in the studies that make the formula sound convincing, and one, at 200 mg against 18 g in its clinical literature, is a token amount. The largest single ingredient by weight has no human data at all. And the narrow 10 day withdrawal window sits awkwardly against a product that would take three months to evaluate properly.
The score reflects that split: a product doing the right things on disclosure and ingredient selection, and the wrong thing on dosing. If you want to try it, go in understanding that you are testing a low-dose botanical blend with no finished-product evidence, not a proven cholesterol intervention, and keep your doctor in the loop if you take anything that garlic or piperine could interact with.
Get the current details before deciding (paid link)
About this review: This review was written, researched, and fact-checked by Vijidsu. Vijidsu is not a medical professional and this article has not been reviewed by a physician. The product was not personally tested; the assessment is based on the published label and the peer-reviewed literature cited above. See how we research and review products for the full editorial process.
